Wyoming Medical Center pharmacist wins… - Wyoming Medical Center

Wyoming Medical Center pharmacist wins highest honor at state convention, three others take home awards

By The Pulse Jul 29, 2014

Four Wyoming Medical Center pharmacists won awards at the Wyoming Pharmacy Association’s 97th annual conference June 28 in Casper.

Their contributions to Wyoming Medical Center, University of Wyoming pharmacy students and to patients in Casper and around the state cannot be understated.

Congratulations to all!

Rick Quest, RPh

Rick Quest was named Wyoming Hospital Pharmacist of the Year, the association’s highest honor.

Quest has worked at Wyoming Medical Center for 20 years. “He is always open to questions, spending the extra time to teach you about something you want to know, and spreads his knowledge with everybody including co-workers in the pharmacy, nurses, doctors and patients,” wrote WMC pharmacy tech Angelena Potter in her nomination letter.

Lanae Fox, PharmD

Lanae Fox, a University of Wyoming pharmacy preceptor/teacher, won the Pharmacist Mutual Distinguished Young Pharmacist of the Year Award.

“The Distinguished Young Pharmacist award was created in 1987 to encourage newer pharmacists to become involved in association activities and civic projects, and to recognize one such pharmacist in each state for individual excellence and outstanding contributions,” according to the association.

Dr. Fox teaches many UW pharmacy students who do rotations at our hospital as part of their six-year PharmD curriculum. She has been with UW Pharmacy School at WMC for three years.

Matt Stanton, RPh, PharmD

Matt Stanton was presented with the Past President Award. Stanton has served the Wyoming Society of Health System Pharmacists for a one-year term and has worked at Wyoming Medical Center for more than 11 years. Stanton also works as a preceptor for several schools of pharmacy including University of Wyoming, Creighton University and North DakotaState University. Stanton also manages the pharmacy at the Niobrara Life and Health Center in Lusk.

Patti Nelson, PharmD

Patti Nelson won the Cardinal Health Generation RX Champion Award. This award is given to the nominee “who has demonstrated excellence in community-based prescription drug abuse prevention. The award is intended to recognize outstanding efforts within the pharmacy community to raise awareness of this serious public health problem.”

This was the first time that Wyoming presented this award, and it included a $500 donation from Cardinal Health to Crime Stoppers of Central Wyoming. The Pharmacy Take Back program, coordinated by Nelson and the Casper Police Dept. has collected more than 10,000 pounds of discarded medications since October 2007. Nelson has been with Wyoming Medical Center since 2005.